Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common view that only big corporations and governments have resources to reverse the harmful effects caused to our environment and individual effort cannot make a big difference. However, this essay strongly disagrees with this viewpoint and suggests that individuals can make a huge impact in improving the environment through their small individual actions as well as with their collective effort. To begin with, very small steps taken towards preserving nature can have many positive effects in the long run. There are many small things that we can do to protect nature, for instance, reducing the usage of single-use plastic, planting more trees, using public transportation for our daily commute, not using air conditioners while windows are open, etc. All these actions yield many benefits to our environment in the long run. Furthermore, a group of individuals who are well aware of the future outcomes of our actions which can badly affect the environment, can make others aware of them. To explain further, the primary reason why people take steps that negatively impact our surrounding is their lack of awareness. Additionally, individuals who are very passionate about preserving our mother nature can also run non-profit organizations to solve the specific cause. For example, one of these organizations, named Seva, runs awareness campaigns for students to teach them the adverse effects of using plastic on the environment. In conclusion, tiny steps taken towards improving the environment have a huge impact on the future, and a single individual effort also matters when it comes to protecting Mother Nature. Moreover, the collective effort of making others aware of the negative effects of their action on the environment can have very positive outcomes in the future.