Art classes, such as painting and drawing, are as important for children’s development as other subjects, so they should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

Art classes, such as painting and drawing have been recognized as important for children's overall development. Therefore, it is an ongoing debate that such subjects should be seen as obligatory. From my perspective, I partly agree with the statement. On the one hand, there are certain reasons why the role of art -related subjects are crucial for the development of children. For example, maths which requires student to caculate and solve maths questions helps them to enhance problem-solving skills and cognitive acuity; while art subjects could provide children with creative abilities. By participating in these classes, students have more chances to learn how to observe artworks and furthermore have a deeper insight into one's emotions. On the other hand, apart from mentioned benefits that art classes could bring. Not all students are interested in art subjects, if students are forced to learn such subjects, it could be a cause of frustration and stress, leading them to resist. Meanwhile, these amount of time should be spent on other subjects which students feel enthusiastic about. For example, in Vietnam, the Ministry of Education and Training has allowed students to choose the subjects they love to study instead of forcing them to study nine mandatory as before. Furthermore, there are policies encouraging students to participate in physical subjects to bring about comprehersive development. In conclusion, although art subjects are as important as others ones, these subjects should not be considered as obligatory. Instead, it is necessary for schools to guide their students to discover their potential so that they could develop in the most comprehersive way.