Some believe that it is good for a country’s culture to import films and TV programmes, while others think it is better for a country to have their own films and TV programmes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There has been a difference of opinion regarding the merits of foreign movies and TV channels to the culture of a country as people believe domestic products would be better. From my perspective, both of those categories are equally important. On the one hand, people usually believe foreign films and TV telecasts can contribute to the cultural diversity of a nation. Fascinating social norms and practices, such as public hugging which is common in the US, can follow the wave to other nations as Hollywood blockbusters are becoming more popular. This phenomenon is believed to benefit the richness of the host country’s traditional backgrounds. Moreover, the import of international movies and TV shows could perfect the flaws of the country’s sets of beliefs. In Vietnam, for example, the ceremony of funerals is often perpetuated with ongoing depraved customs such as gambling and drinking. Since the arrival of TV shows from more developed nations, which triggered a new and civilized way of thinking, such practices have been gradually aborted. On the other hand, it appears to me that producing local movies and TV programs has the same importance. Citizens of a country would be able to acquire knowledge about their own culture. Apparently, profound insights into traditional values can be vividly conveyed in cinemas and in the media if the content is made by local people. The second point to be considered is that this way can relieve the worry of cultural assimilation which has emerged as a detriment to the existence of a country’s traditional beliefs and customs. In fact, if exotic practices are absorbed thoughtlessly, it might lead to the oblivion of the long-standing ethics, which emphasizes the necessity for domestic products. In conclusion, I would argue that both types of films and TV telecasts play an equal role in a country’s culture.