You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic Many university students nowadays live away from their home and their parents because of their university location, while others live with their families. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each situation? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Today, college students either reside in their family home or live at the place where they study. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of both practices. For students who continue to live at home during their time at university, the major positive is a sense of familiarity and security. Those who remain at home have the comfort of a familiar daily routine where their parents provide for them, and they do not have to stress over domestic chores such as laundry and cooking. However, the main disadvantage is the financial burden they can place on their family. If the student does not study on a scholarship or has part-time employment, the financial costs to parents of supporting their adult child can be considerable. The main advantage for students choosing to find accommodation at their college is that it fosters a sense of independence. Students often relish the challenge of having the responsibility of managing their own lives, whether it is something as simple as cooking their own meals to budgeting their finances. On the other hand, the primary disadvantages are the social challenges that come with relocating away from home. For some students, it is often quite difficult to form new friendships, especially in an academic environment, and failure to do so can result in negative feelings such as isolation and loneliness. In conclusion, students who live at home continue to enjoy their home comforts but can create serious financial problems for their parents. In contrast, students who reside at their college can become more independent; however, they may become socially isolated.