Some people think that in order to deal with the problem of congestion in cities, privately owned vehicles should be banned in city centers, while others consider this to be an unrealistic solution. discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Traffic jam is a serious problem that commonly happens in a city. While some people consider that the government should ban privately owned vehicles in city centres to overcome the congestion problem, I side with those thinking that is an unrealistic way to solve the problem. On the one hand, it could be argued that privately owned vehicles should be banned in the centre of cities can pose two challenges. Firstly, it can be difficult to prohibit vehicles since nowadays there are a huge number of vehicles. If it is forbidden, it will raise the problem of congestion in other areas. As a result, the regulation will not solve the problem but then create the same problem. Secondly, when privately owned vehicles are prohibited in city centres, it will raise society's revolt especially they are who live in rural areas where no public transport is available. People will be in a hard situation as they can not go to city centres with their vehicles and at the same time, they are impossible to go by public transport. On the other hand, I believe with those who think that ban privately owned vehicles in city centres is an unrealistic solution. Although that policy will reduce traffic congestion and air pollution significantly, the government and any other parties involved should really consider what is the main cause of congestion in cities. In my opinion, traffic jams happen mainly because people already find comfort in transporting on their own. So, rather than ban the vehicles, the government should build a convenience public transportation that will attract people to use it. If they can do that, society's habit slowly will change to prefer using public transportation since it gives them many benefits. Furthermore, the policy of prohibiting privately owned vehicles from operating in city centres is quite impossible since there is numerous businesses that has their stores in the city. People can find it difficult to access the stores if they can not commute easily. In conclusion, while forbidding privately owned vehicles in city centers might reduce traffic jams and air pollution, it does not solve the problems since the main causes are not well executed. Moreover, it has more drawbacks than benefits that can we imagine. Therefore, on balance, I remain firmly convinced that it is an unrealistic solution.