Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a true fact that plastic bags are considered one of the most convenient ways to shop throughout the world. However, using such kind of bags can cause some negative impacts on the environment. Therefore, most individuals believe that companies should reduce the usage of these packets. On the one hand, it is increasingly common to find customers using plastic bags for their shopping as they are easy to handle, cost-effective to buy and strong enough to carry products. I mean that such shopping packets enable clients to purchase more. As a consequence, businesses can make huge profits and try to create packages with their own logo ranging from grocery products to clothes. For instance, the company Nike has its own special shopping bags with the logo for the items made by the company. With the help of such special packets, companies are promoting their goods more widely around the public. On the other hand, it should be accounted that these kinds of plastic bags or containers have negative influences on our surroundings. Namely, it will take years for them to decay under the ground and it is impossible to recycle them. That is why manufacturers and customers should use more sustainable bags like paper ones instead of plastic packages. In China, for example, the government set strict rules to ban the usage of oilcloths in shopping malls. Another way to avoid using plastic bags is to increase the price of these products. In conclusion, whereas using plastic packets and containers has become more popular and common among human beings over the last two decades, it would be beneficial for the environment if they use paper bags.