Some people think that students in high school should not waste their time studying literature, such as poems and novels. Do you agree?

A number of people consider that studying classical literature is unnecessary at the second-level education. I would disagree with such a statement. Secondary school is an extremely important period for a young person's life when he develops fundamental human skills. Furthermore, reading books is the only way to improve language. Young people study literature to develop critical thinking skills. During the process, students have an opportunity to more understand human nature. For example, most of Shakespeare's plays are about human relationships and most of the time contain tragedy. They portray how people behave in extreme situations and teach significant values. In brief, studying poems and novels can help teenagers to learn more about themselves. Another valuable aspect of reading is that this is the only tool to expand vocabulary. Moreover, this improves general language skills. If young people only read magazines and social networks, their vocabulary will be very limited. Imagine that students did not study literature in school. Consequently, they did not develop the required language skills for studying at the university. By reading, writing and analysing classical works, students develop some crucial skills which will be useful throughout their whole life. In conclusion, I strongly disagree that studying literature is worthless and should be removed from the secondary school program. Thinking critically as well as building up their vocabulary are the only couple of many more benefits in support of continuing to encourage teenagers to read and analyse classical books.