Today children are spending much more time watching TV compared to the past. Why do you think this happens? Is this a positive or a negative change?

Children are known to spend a lot of time watching TV in comparison to the past. I believe that there are several underlying factors that can contribute to this, and I completely agree that this brings more negative change for the children. In comparison to the past, children are now spending much more time watching TV due to a lack of discipline from their parents. This can be due to the business of their parents and lack of time to communicate properly with the children. Parents usually allow their children to watch TV during their free time. However, because they are still children and lack self-discipline, they are prone to waste time for entertainment purposes like watching TV. Firstly, increasing screen time while watching TV means that children are more exposed to radiation. Radiation poses a significant threat to them because children are usually not aware of the radiation on the TV. Thus, children ’s eyes are more susceptible to damage and they might use glasses at an early age. Secondly, children will have less time to connect with other people if they spend too much time watching TV. Socialising is essential for children ’s development, as it helps them to grow. Social skills are necessary to help them understand society and develop their empathy. However, if they spend excessive time watching TV, they will lack communication skills. In conclusion, although it has become more popular for children to spend their leisure time watching TV, I believe that it has brought about too many problems for this to be considered a positive trend.