International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern era, more and more people are getting concerned about environmental crises. Even tourism is not an exception and there is a controversy about whether tourists benefit local societies or not. Despite causing some problems like air pollution, I think visitors benefit their destinations far more than harm them because of the jobs they create and their contribution to the local economy. To begin with, tourism has a lot of impact on the economy of natural and historical places. In a historical city in Iran called Shiraz, for example, during the pandemic, people experienced low income and financial problems because of Covid restrictions. As we see, Tourism can create a lot of job opportunities for local people. In addition, tourists spend a lot of money in these areas to take a hotel room or buy food and so on which is helpful to the economy. So, this contribution can outweigh any other drawbacks of the tourism industry. On the other hand, some groups of community emphasize the environmental crises caused by visitors. Such as the northern beaches of Iran where many habitats of aquatic animals have been destroyed because of abandoned plastics and other things by travellers. Therefore, travellers can make more garbage and dump it into lakes, seas and jungles. Moreover, the transportation means used by tourists can release a large quantity of emissions into the air which reduces the quality of life and causes a lot of health problems for local residents. So, travelling to new places can bring a lot of problems to society. To conclude, the tourism industry has tons of advantages for local communities like economy related issues and some drawbacks like environmental problems, as well. I think its advantages fully outweigh its disadvantages and I hope electric vehicles and other devices tackle these problems caused by tourism and make people happier to see new places and cultures.