Many young children are spending large amount of time in front of screens. What are the causes of this and what other problems does it lead to?

Screen time is one of the leading bad habits, which is not only harmful forour eyes but for our mental health too. Children are physically and mentally sensitive as compared to adults so they are likely to get more affected by screen time. I believe there are various reasons and serious problems related to this kind of habit among children. Recently, due to the COVID-19 many of us started working remotely. This change is not limited to adults, children also have shifted their concentration from physical presence to online presence and they are spending large amount of time in their smartphones or tablets. Schools started online lectures which requires children to study via smart devices which is again a big reason for their high screen time. Furthermore, children prefer to play online games instead of physically playing outside. This creates a big impact on their mental health. Recent study proves that children who play violent games online tend to become violent in their real life and this also affects their physical health as they are not physically active. Lack of physical activity can also lead to obesity. Recently, a child faced incurable mental illness due to actively playing violent games. Parents are also responsible for this habit because instead of encouraging their children to play in nature, they introduce them with smartphones. In conclusion, spending a large amount of time on screen is really harmful for children, parents should act upon this matter as early as possible and encourage their children to spend time on physical activities before it's too late.