In recent years, many local shop owners have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a lot of small businesses have broken down because people have preferred to go to huge shopping malls than buy things from local shops. I think that this situation is a negative aspect of city development because local companies are the best way to provide more jobs and make the distribution of income fairer. On the one hand, large shopping centres promote several jobs during their construction, however, after starting to operate, jobs tend to change from small businesses to big enterprises. Big companies usually have sales and storage processes more efficiently and need fewer people to work. Besides, when shops are concentrated in the same place, services such as food, cleaning, parking, and security can be shared, reducing even more jobs. Moreover, shopping centres and malls usually pay higher prices than local stores. For example, a T-shirt sold in a shopping mall can be double the price of a neighbourhood shop. Besides, in local stores, most of the parking lots are free of charge, while in shopping centres the customers have to pay for a third-party parking lot. To sum up, there are some good points in this trend, but I think that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits, especially in the creation of jobs and income distribution. Overall, it is good for the economy and for the owners and stakeholders of big companies, but it is worse for neighbourhood trades and the finances of families.