Walking is known to be beneficial for health and yet fewer and fewer people are walking these days. What is the reason for this? What can be done to tackle this problem?

All forms of exercise give people many health benefits, however, less people are walking than ever before. The main reason for this is time limitations yet can be solved by changing an individual’s mentality in a positive way. The most noticeable factor for people walking less is time. It must be recognised that individuals have hectic lifestyles more than ever before, leading to less time to look after themselves through exercise. Consequently, people start to gain weight, thus, losing motivation altogether to do activities such as walking. Le Thanh Tong students are a relatable example here, where their busy study schedules combined with prioritising homework limits their time and motivation to exercise. However, a change in mentality can help people overcome this challenge. The most effective approach is to form a group with likeminded individuals who are struggling with the same time limitations. This will enable people to collaborate with each other to find time and inspiration to go walking or do other forms of exercise. As a result, individuals will feel better about themselves, meaning it becomes part of their routine, instead of an activity that gets ignored. This works in the UK where groups are formed in the workplace environment to encourage work colleagues to become healthy together. Therefore, a lack of time is usually used as an excuse not to walk and exercise more. Nevertheless, by changing a person’s mentality by finding likeminded individuals in groups to form exercise routines can go a long way to increasing the number of walkers in the future.