We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, there are still a lot of people seeking help all around the world. Some people believe that we should not help people in other nations as long as there are plenty of problems in our own society. I completely disagree with this view because I consider that we should try to help as much as many people as possible. On the one hand, it is surely important to help our neighbours and fellow citizens. In most communities, there are still families living in poverty commonly. More significantly, it is possible to find homeless people in the wealthiest of cities. For those who are concerned about this problem, there are opportunities to volunteer time or give money to support these groups of people. In China, citizens have various ways of helping vulnerable groups in the country, for instance, by donating clothing to serving free food in a soup kitchen.As the problems are on our doorstep, there are obvious ways to help. In this way, I can understand why some people feel that we should prioritize local charity. At the same time, I believe that we also have an obligation to help those who live beyond our national borders. In many developing countries, the problems that people suffer from can be much more serious than those in our own communities, but they are even relatively easier to help. For example, when loads of babies and children are dying from curable diseases in several African countries, governments and individuals in developed countries are able to save these lives simply by paying for vaccines that already exist. As a result, a small donation to an international charity might have a much greater positive impact than helping in our local area. In conclusion, it is true that we do not have the ability to help everyone, but in my perspective, national boundaries should not be an obstacle to impede us from offering assistance to those who are in need.