Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

On the one hand, there are many possible solutions that the authorities can take to reduce the traffic jam and pollution. First, there are more and more sustainable energy sources such as solar power, wind power, and hydropower that can be utilized to run vehicles and factory, and as a result, the emission of greenhouse gases or other harmful gases like carbon monoxide and CFC will be reduced. For example, there are many countries using solar panels to run public vehicles or to produce electricity for household usages. This not only saves money on the electricity bill, but also encourages people to travel around with eco-friendly and cheap vehicles such as train or bus. On the other hand, in the short term, rising petrol price can bring some immediate benefits. Because of the increase in the cost, consumers will have to curb the amount of gasoline that they use, resulting in a decline in private vehicle usages. But in the long run, this policy may be impractical. In this era, petrol is still the most valuable fuel that is used in a lot of aspects. Therefore, despite the rise in the cost, petrol remains indispensable, which makes people maintain their dependence on this fuel. In Vietnam, although the authorities have applied this policy for many times, there was no fall in the number of people who used petrol. Due to the fact that I have mentioned above, I completely disagree with the opinion that increasing the price of the petrol is the best way of all.