Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, numerous young children tend to spend a lot of time using their phones. There are several reasons why this phenomenon is significantly increasing. From my perspective, I believe it has a positive impact on children in many aspects. There can be some reasons behind using technology devices trend. First and foremost, with the development in the technological era, some parents have given smartphones to their children for study purposes like joining an online course or studying through learning applications, and YouTube channels, and due to that children were introduced to smartphones. Furthermore, some modern parents have a hectic schedule at work, therefore they also allow their kids to play online games so they do not have to pay much attention to kids and enjoy their leisure time. Hence, some parents usually fail to control this habit of their children. Due to this, using smartphones and social media platforms can increase some physical and mental issues. For example, if children spend more than 4 hours browsing smartphones, they can suffer from eye diseases due to UV light, and because of a lack of physical activities, many children become obese. Moreover, children can also enter inappropriate websites consisting of violent content that might have negative impacts on their mental development, leading to unhealthy behaviors. In conclusion, the increasing use of smartphones among children has many risks to the mature process. It is crucial for parents to monitor and control the frequency of using smartphones with their kids to ensure balanced and healthy habits.