In order to change their appearance people often turn to plastic surgery. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such an approach ?

In the contemporary world, a majority of people cannot seem to be at peace with their bodies, therefore, they find a solution by heading towards plastic surgeries to surgically alter their outward form. It is my contention that plastic surgeries are akin to a double-edged sword; they benefit individuals with an ability to dissipate undesirable atypical body parts, but can also ruin people's lives. As a primary advantage, plastic surgeries are considered a life-saving operation in certain cases where individuals are body-shamed by others because of their foreign appearance. Therefore, the members of the younger generation are preoccupied with others' opinions on them and this is why the number of plastic surgeries is at an all-time high. For example, juveniles in Iran and Brazil are more inclined to undergo plastic surgery for their aesthetic look by getting their nose or other facial surgeries done to avoid body shaming. Furthermore, sometimes plastic surgeries are considered a vital operation in the fighter community. Because they receive catastrophic damages during the matches, there is a high risk of their facial structure being deformed. To illustrate this point, almost one-third of each ultimate fighter has to receive surgical treatment to bring their previous look. Consequently, cosmetic surgery can help individuals achieve their desired body image, which, in turn, may positively impact their mental health and social interactions. On the other hand, plastic surgery may not merely be a pragmatic solution as there are a myriad of risks incorporated into these activities. The significant perils associated with these operations should be acknowledged by patients prior to their surgeries. Nevertheless, a big portion of them end up in hospital beds to go under the knife for their foreign look. To exemplify my statement, if complications such as infection, scarring, and unsatisfactory results occur, they may not be reverted back to their original condition without prompting a second surgery with a similar risk background. In conclusion, while plastic surgery can offer significant benefits to those looking to change their appearance, it does not mean that these surgeries are devoid of disadvantages.