It is believed that individuals who engage in reading books can cultivate greater imagination and linguistic abilities than those who prefer television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often said that people who actively engage in the routine of reading books are more likely to improve their creativity and language abilities than people who prefer to enjoy mediums like television. I strongly agree with this statement as I think that watching videos are driving force that hinders individuals from illustrating the scene and cultivating vocabulary enrichment. To begin with, reading exposes readers to more complex vocabularies and exotic languages. To be specific, they can acquire expert vocabularies through reading. For instance, biology vocabulary such as ‘carnivorous’ or ‘herbivorous’ is difficult to learn while watching video content. Moreover, reading documents enables people to memorize the spelling and the meaning which leads to improved linguistic abilities. To illustrate, when I first listened to the word ‘phenomenon’, it didn’t come into my mind directly. However, when I read the word from the dictionary and saw the spelling, I could remember the word right away. Hence, books and texts are highly effective tools to develop language proficiency. In addition to this, books offer more space to imagine themselves while videos deter viewers from drawing the scene by providing the character's appearance and settings. For instance, readers can conceive diversly based on their experiences and comprehension when they read the literature "Harry Potter". On the other hand, viewers of the movie version already get to know what the characters look like, how they make facial expressions, and what their voices are like, through visuals. In conclusion, I claim that books are much more beneficial than television in developing people ’s imagination and improving language abilities as they drive people to actively participate in the story and extend the opportunities for expert texts and articles.