In some countries, a high proportion of criminal acts are commited by teenagers. What are the causes? What are the solutions?

In many countries, a large number of criminal acts are committed by teenagers. This is mainly because of a lack of awareness and peer pressure. There are some solutions which should be implemented to deal with juvenile crimes. Firstly, the main reason for the huge number of criminal acts which are committed by youths is due to the lack of awareness. In other words, teenagers do not have enough awareness to avoid this risk. This is because they are not exposed and educated about the consequences of their behaviour. Both parents and schools give priority to their children's academic performance rather than social life. Secondly, this problem also occurs owing to peer pressure which may influence them to commit crimes. In other words, some children tend to mix with the wrong group because no one monitors their activities. As a result, these children can be affected negatively and they have a high possibility of committing crimes. There are two effective solutions to the problem of juvenile crimes. One way to tackle this is to ensure that all schools have awareness programmes. That is to say, students should be exposed to the punishment that they will get whenever they commit any form of crime. Hence, they will behave well and follow all the rules. Another effective method is that parents should monitor their children. They should know with whom their children always hang out with. This will help them to make sure that their children do not mix with the wrong group of people. In conclusion, having an awareness program and some supervision of the youths are effective strategies to deal with this issue. If schools and parents implemented these solutions, juvenile crime figures would soon drop.