The car is possibly the most convenient and popular way of getting from A to B. However, due to its impact on the environment and the risk it poses to pedestrians and motorists, governments should take urgent steps to reduce our dependency on this mode of transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some people continue to select cars as their mode of transportation, it can bring several risks to society, which makes the government adresses methods for reducing its usage, and I completely agree with that conditions. Furthermore, this essay will discuss the reasons for my given statement. To begin with, the declining proportion of car drivers can make the street more secure since car transport has been a major contributor to street accidents. It is acceptable because nowadays enormous car manufacturers are installing technologies that can heighten the driver’s convenience but fail to make them do mindful driving. As a result, they are not aware of their surroundings while driving, which eventually involves them in road accidents. For example, the automatic drive system in Tesla may be helpful for drivers who want to multitask during their journey. However, recent statistics have proven that almost 90% of car accidents in the United States were also caused by the drivers who use that system. This means that although streetcars already offering more comfortable way to drive, it does not guarantee to hinder the drivers from unwanted events. Furthermore, decreasing the number of gasoline-based vehicles can result in a healthier environment. For instance, in Jakarta, the local decree that has been issued by the Jakarta governor, Anies Baswedan, regarding the prohibition of taking private vehicles to transport in the town for about five days has resulted in a good air quality and a remarkable decrease in the percentage of people who suffer from respiratory diseases. It is found to be effective since the amount of hazardous gases that can cause air pollution, such as nitrogen and carbon dioxide that have been emitted into the sky from cars has reduced significantly. To conclude, I completely agree with the government’s plan to reduce the number of car drivers, because it can make the street safer and the environment healthier.