Across the world, local shops are closing due to losing customers to online competitors. What problems does this produce? And what solutions can you suggest to overcome them?

Over the last years, online shopping has been growing significantly, provoking the closure of many local shops worldwide. Negative impacts include that people need to wait to receive parcels and can’t have the product immediately. It also affects local economy resulting in loss of jobs, and lack of shop variety. To solve this issue, government may encourage people to buy local, and local shops should to invest in online tools with click and collect options. Online purchases can be a convenient method for those who have busy lives or are looking for competitive deals. However, when buying products on the internet, clients often need to wait days or weeks to receive their items. In other words, they don’t have products immediately if compared to buying physically in a shop. It is not very convenient in many cases. For instance, Coles and Woolworths are offering customers the option to shop online which is very convenient if the person is exhausted after working all day. Nevertheless, if the person needs ingredients to prepare dinner, they will need to physically visit a local supermarket to buy food. With this in mind, if there is no local food shops, the person will not have instant shopping options. The decrease on the number of local shops also leads to negative impacts in communities’ economy. As a result, there are less job positions available. Additionally, there will be less shopping variety for residents who prefer to have physical shopping experiences, such as when trying shoes, or smelling a parfum. An effective solution to avoid local shops to shut down is the promotion of local business by the government. Advertising campaigns and neighbourhood festival that value community business can be a good way to remind people old buying experience methods. Another key feature that can assist local business to stay alive is to embrace local tools. Investing in a website for people to research products and services is a way to battle online competitors. It can also become even more convenient for locals. For example, a click and collect service where people can buy a product online and collect the same day can be a huge differential that will sustain local business. In conclusion, the increase in online competition are resulting in the closure of many local shops. Some of the issues this fact raises is that buyers often need to wait too long to receive their products and affects local economy. To solve these issues, shops need to invest in online tools and the government needs to support the promotion of local business.