Some believe that tourism does more to create tension between countries rather than helping individuals better understand other cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that instead of strengthening bonds, tourism actually causes more hostilities between countries. In my opinion, I believe that the vast majority of tourists can make more significant benefits than its downsides. The reason that many people have turned against tourism is a large portion of tourists have caused tension due to their impolite behaviours. Every part of the world has different cultures that require researching before getting into their regions. If travellers do not have an insight thought and knowledge about the customs, they can unintentionally offend the local values, leading to conflicts arising. For example, the“OK” sign is a common gesture in many countries, in The USA, it means positive agreement, however in Iran, this is an insult. Nevertheless, I believe that this action creates more mutual understanding between nations. This can be explained by the fact that the increase in tourism rate enhances the connection of tourists and travel places through cuisines and traditions. By experiencing life in a strange country, foreigners can get close to locals and promote cooperation between the two countries. For instance, citizens who live in countries in the EU do not need passport approval to travel, they only need to buy tickets so that the relationship among these countries is very friendly. In conclusion, I strongly believe that international tourism plays an important role in fostering social cohesion in a multicultural world rather than tension as it can remove fallacies and replace by deep understanding. In contrast, careless travellers may bring misunderstanding or antagonism if not fully prepared.