Some believe that students should begin learning a language very early in school while others think these subjects should be taught later. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Learning a language in the early years of school is said to be beneficial to students whilst other people believe that languages should be introduced later on when students have acquired knowledge of other subjects. I am of the view that a language should be one of the first subject to be taught in the early years and to be perfected as the years of learning progresses. A language can be one of the most difficult subjects that a student could come across as it might be foreign to them. If one does not use that particular language in their day to day, they will need more time to understand the basics and then get used to it for them to be fluent hence the need to start early on. One can also argue that other subjects like mathematics, history, geography and so many others are usually taught in English in many countries all over the world so there is need to begin with English language amongst other languages so that students can immensely understand all those other subjects. However, a language can be introduced in the later years of learning. This is so because there is a need to understand basics of learning which is acquired when one fully understands other subjects which are basics like writing and reading. A student will have to learn how to read and write the things they fully understand before being introduced to more complex subjects such as languages. I could argue that younger the better when it comes to fully grasping the complexity of a language. When the years of learning progresses one will therefore be able to speak, read and write if only they started to learn early.