You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic Many university students nowadays live away from their home and their parents because of their university location, while others live with their families. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each situation? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Today, a lot of students prefer leaving their hometown and parents to study abroad, while others tend to stay with their families. This essay will discuss the main advantages and disadvantages of this trend. For students who continue to live at home during their time at university, the major positive is the opportunity to stay close to their family members. As leaving a hometown may often cause homesickness for students, the decision to stay at home may be the best way to avoid feeling stressed. Moreover, living with parents while studying is beneficial for students both in terms of saving money and having more time to concentrate on the study process. It is surely less expensive to live with a family, as students do not have to spend money on renting an apartment, for instance. Additionally, while staying at home, students may have more opportunities to focus on their education rather than spending most of their time on household chores such as cooking, washing dishes, and doing laundry. However, the main disadvantage is missing the chance to step into an independent life and leaving a comfort zone. By this, I mean that, in most cases, living at home with family involves excessive parental care and support. As a consequence, students usually have less opportunity to make independent decisions and develop their life skills. The main advantage for students choosing to find accommodation at their college is that it is a great chance for them to extend their horizons and experience another culture. While studying and living abroad, students meet people from different cultures, learn a new language, and explore the various customs and traditions of other nations. What is more, living far from home is beneficial for students in terms of personal growth. Having said that, while living on their own, students take full responsibility for their accommodation, nutrition, and other expenses. As a result, they become more self-reliant and independent. On the other hand, students living abroad on their own are most likely to experience a high degree of emotional and financial strain since independent life abroad involves larger expenses and a lack of emotional support. In conclusion, students who live with their families feel less stressed, benefit from money savings, and have more time to concentrate on their studies, but it is usually hard for them to make their own independent decisions and become mature. In contrast, students who live away from their home and their parents are encouraged to take full responsibility and widen their worldview by exploring another culture. However, they are most likely to struggle with financial difficulties and experience emotional stress.