In many professional sports, there is an increase in the numbers of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions.

In the modern era, consumption of harmful products for increasing capabilities is one of the major problems in sport. There are numerous reasons why it is done which I'm going to explain more about in the rest of this essay. To begin with, many factors entice athletes into consumption of injurious products. The environment of sport is getting more competitive and requires a lot of effort to gain a reputation. So, some individuals want to skip the effort part and acquire a reputation earlier and hence, they use these products. Additionally, social media and its users have doubled the pressure on athletes by advocating for renowned individuals. Therefore, some people want to be the one who is prouded by his/her peers and families and opt these illegal ways which are very dangerous and usually jeopardize their lives. For example, In 2021, a Brazilian bodybuilder died because of consuming a lot of medicine to get fit. There are abundant ways to tackle this problem. Firstly, manufacturers and distributers of these products should be arrested and put in jail for a lot time until they regret what they have done. Secondly, the government should adopt highly stringent laws about these banned substances and even arrest athletes who use them because of injustice in competitions. FIFA, for instance, suspends any person who use forbidden susbtances up to 20 years from any activity in football. Finally, healthy sport have to be touted amid disparate groups of society epecifically the youth to combat harmful products. To conclude, world can not address the problem of injurious products in sport unless people and governments cooperate and utilize the solutions that were mentioned.