Social media has replaced the traditional methods of communication, and people use more and more social media to communicate, and to follow news and events. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

The methods of communication have been transformed from the traditional to the modern ones, one of which is through social media. There is an increasing trend for people to use more social media in order to communicate and to get news updates. In this essay, I will examine that the benefits of social media overshadow the potential drawbacks. On the one hand, rising social media users can pose some problems. Firstly, social media can lead to an addiction, which thus may drive people to ignore their surroundings. For example, we often hear many cases of teenagers who can not get away from their phones since they are always open to their social media whenever it is. By getting busy with their accounts, teenagers may neglect their responsibility as students such as to finish their homework. Furthermore, nowadays, social media have grown as a platform to post users' achievements like when they get a job, win a competition, or simply have an overseas vacation. Although they may see this as not a problem, other people may not think the same. It is very common for them to get jealous of people's success, thus they may feel insecure about their own. On the other hand, the existence of social media brings a few great benefits for people who use it. To begin with, we can say that social media makes it easy for us to connect with many people around us. For instance, by using Instagram or Facebook, we can connect to our old friends. In addition, people can broaden their networking through LinkedIn and it is really possible for them to get a new opportunity like a new job. Moreover, people who are active users of social media can get news updates quickly so they feel informed about whatever going on in society. In conclusion, I can say that the benefits of social media outweigh the costs. Although the platforms may make people addicted and bring insecurity, social media make it easy for people to connect with others, build networks, and even gain updated information. Therefore, as a user, we have to be able to maximize the advantages of using social media.