In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Regarding to the advance development of cities, more and more people prefer to live in the city instead of countryside. It is true that the raise of urban population can boost country economy, I still believe that it is more likely to be a negative development. While city population see a rise, the city itself will gradually become a less suitable place to live. As population grow, more human activities will be involved in the city. These will lead to a heavier traffic, serious air pollution and severe lack of job opportunities. For example, in the 19 century, Britain experienced a industry revolution, which offers more and more people settling down in the urban area. However, with the development of the city, there are traffic congestion on the road all day long, followed by the frog caused by car pollution and heavy smoke produced by working factories. With the unpleasant living environment, people are likely to gain illness mental health. However, this is not the only factor that may cause mental disease of citizens. With a great number of people living in the city, while the job appliance declined, pressure of living will boost. Take Beijing for example, as one of the largest city and the most crowded city in China, there are surveys announced that 80% of college graduates are facing unemployed after graduate from university. Similarly, as the number of students who can not get a job grow, more citizens started to visit psychological clinics according to the research. Consider about the rural development, as less people choose to stay in the countryside, it is noticeable that the economic badge between rural and urban will see a significant raise. Furthermore, as the difference between these two place become bigger, the richer the city gets, the less people will be glad to stay in countryside. Therefore, a negative cycle is formed. Overall, after considering the disadvantages in city development and mental health of citizens, I strongly hold the view that people moving from rural to city is a negative development.