Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In this modern age, many people prefer self-employed jobs rather than climbing the corporate ladder. The types of self-employed can vary, including entrepreneurship, freelancing, and individual consultants. This condition occurs due to some reason but it has some disadvantages so this essay will discuss it. This circumstance happens due to some reasons which are flexibility, independence, and personal development. Some people decide to work independently because of its flexibility. They can arrange their own working hours and work from anywhere without having to obey company rules. This type of working suits people to balance work with personal matters. Additionally, working independently has greater control of decision-making processes without getting approval from a higher level. This is also related to creativity and innovation, self-employed workers can explore new ideas freely and experiment with different approaches. This process will help their personal growth in a particular skill. Even though working independently has some advantages, there are several disadvantages such as longer working hours and irregular incomes compared to employees in a company/organisation. Building a business can be challenging in the initial stages since it requires dedication to work extra including in the evenings and weekends. Additionally, some new businesses may cause fluctuation in income. Moreover, crisis conditions such as a pandemic may worsen these fluctuations. Self-employed workers also don’t get other benefits compared to corporate workers such as health insurance and retirement plans. In conclusion, some people mostly young people prefer to be self-employed due to some reason. In spite of the advantages, longer working hours and irregular income are risks of being self-employed.