Most people believe that social media such as facebook and instagram negatively impact on society and individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In contemporary times, one school of thought holds that social media such as Facebook or Instagram could harm individuals and the entire community. While I accept that perception is somewhat justified, I believe that there are other factors that people need to take into account. On the one hand, it is understandable why using social media platforms might result in serious consequences. First and foremost, it could negatively affect people's awareness. In fact, it is easy to access and absorb violent and cruel content that is prevalent on the Internet without any supervision or limitation. As a result, the young, especially teenagers, would be encouraged to imitate bad behaviours, such as bullying, cheating, or racism. Furthermore, online applications could cause some health problems. For example, toxic and biased comments could work users up and trigger their mental issues, such as depression or anxiety, in the long run. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that online community platforms might bring some profound benefits. One rationale is that it could strengthen people's ties. To be more specific, by using smartphones or laptops, citizens could easily interact with their relatives or friends via Twitter or Instagram, regardless of distance, thereby maintaining and enhancing the relationships among them. Another justification is that these online communities might play a vital role in education. This is because they could not only gain more useful information and new lessons but also share the experiences involved in their occupations, which could improve others' competencies as well as help them have decent jobs. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that social media could have great disadvantages, I would contend that the merits of these platforms could outweigh their demerits.