In recent years, there has been a rise in the use of performance enhancing drugs in sports. What are the consequences of doping for athletes? What measures should be taken to combat this issue?

There is no gainsaying the fact that the use of drugs in competitive games has been inclining drastically for the better results of the sports person. Although, there are a wide array of reasons which build this tribulation, certain praiseworthy steps can be taken to ameliorate this issue. To commence with, there are a plethora of outcomes of this problem. The most significant is that it affects the heartbeat of the sportsperson. To clarify, taking drugs has several health issues, amongst which one major issue is the increase or decrease in the heartbeat. As a result of this problem sportsperson might suffer from a heart stroke and die. In India, for example, one-fourth of all people who take drugs die of heart attack. Moreover, it also decreases the sperm count in the men which further reduces the chances of reproduction in their families. Thus, leading to stress in their families. Despite all these issues, the problem can be resolved by taking some decisive steps. The first and foremost solution is that the government should spread awareness amongst youngsters about the side effects of the drugs. For instance, the government can arrange some campaigns or place big posters in the cities regarding this. Furthermore, agencies hiring these sports persons should make dope tests necessary in their selection process. Hence, people may avoid taking the drugs and will concentrate more on their training for effective results. To conclude, as every problem comes with its own solution, similarly, the problem of taking drugs for better performance has both causes as well as solutions. However, it is up to human beings and the government that determine what steps are being taken regarding this problem.