Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city centre. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to the massive use of automobiles in modern society, some cities established car-free days to persuade the masses to use public transportations. This essay will demonstrate that the merits are massive. Undoubtedly, there are several causes of why car-free days have a demerit. By using transportation instead of private cars, it will give up some freedom and flexibility. In particular, modern people will lose the option of hopping in the car and driving wherever they want at a moment's notice. Also, in an emergency case, people need to use their private cars to travel in the middle of the night or long distance. In spite of the above opinions, I contend that there are compelling reasons why vehicle-free days have more merits. To begin with, by not using our own cars it will help to alleviate the pollution. Specifically, the use of public transport instead of private vehicles causes less pollution since it produces less car fumes. Secondly, car-free days lead to reducing traffic jams. Since most individuals tend to use their own private cars in their daily lives it will create traffic jams and road packs. Thus, it is good to use public transport so that everyone can not face the problem of roads blocked by traffic. Furthermore, it will save us money. In general, using a car requires lots of expenses for fuel, repairing, maintenance costs, etc. In a nutshell, even though there are disadvantages of vehicle-free policies since it limits the convenience for individuals, I think there are countless advantages since it is not only eco-friendly but also connects to saving money.