It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media _rich society.

It is believed that online media has impacted our lives to a great extent and it has become nearly impossible to get rid off its impact. While there are many benefits of online social networking, its drawbacks can be overlooked. This essay will highlight both the benefits and drawbacks of the same in the subsequent paragraphs. Diverse points endorse the benefits for the aforementioned phenonmenon. The principal among all is that due to the social networking websites, people nowadays are more updated about the happenings of the world. Since the internet has gained popularity, the influx of social websites can be noticed. The need to have conventional newspapers for the global news has reduced significantly as the internet can be accessed in any smart advice. Furthermore, more and more people are using these networks for various purposes such as business, adverts and entertainment. For instance, Facebook is used by millions of people to sell or purchase goods by its Marketplace feature, as affordable and reasonable stuff can be found there. Therefore, social media not only keep folks updated, but also helps in selling and purchasing. As every coin has two sides, social media service has some drawbacks too. Primarily, families no longer share the same cordial bond because they are more connected virtually rather than physically. Distant relationships are loosing the essence of love and care like earlier when they was no technology and relatives used to meet physically every now and then. Besides this, spending time on social media is ruining the young minds. Youngsters have developed the addiction towards some porn websites due to online social networks where these websites are shared on regular basis. Thus, individuals have become more careless towards each other and youth is getting distracted due to the influence of media. To conclude, it can inferred that no doubt, online networking is beneficial as getting the information about the world and buying new things have become convenient. Nonetheless, its disadvantages such as involvement of adults in porn sites and distance between relationships can not be ignored.