Additional police enforcement is the most effective alternative to reduce the number of car accidents. Do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary times, one school of thought holds that strengthening the polices' human resources is the best way to decrease the rate of vehicle accidents. While I accept that perception is somewhat justified, I believe that there are other factors that might result in logical opposition. On the one hand, it is understandable why the rise of the polices ' forces could significantly tackle serious transport issues. First and foremost, it could lower the number of reckless drivers. To be more specific, an increasingly frequent patrol means that fewer dangerous driving actions such as speeding, drunk driving, and not wearing seat belts, as well as improving drivers' awareness. Furthermore, police officers could protect commuters against potential risks. This is because they could check and make reports about the quality of traffic infrastructure such as highways, bridges, or traffic lights, which could help authorities adopt a plan to maintain or replace if necessary. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that the addition of the polices ' workforces could be disadvantageous to a certain extent. One rationale is that it could negatively affect particular residents. In fact, the enormous cost incurred by this change would put a strain on government coffers, thereby leading to budget deficits, tax hikes, or reduced social welfare. As a result, ordinary citizens, especially the underprivileged, would struggle even more to make ends meet. Another justification is that the efficiency of other safety methods should be taken into account. For example, by using speed cameras, the governing bodies could observe and track the traffic conditions in larger scale with fewer employees, which could provide more budget for other safety features such as crosswalks, sidewalks, and road signs. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that extending the number of traffic officers might have some merits, I would contend that national authorities should consider this opinion carefully because of its profound consequences as other capable measures.