In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Many regions over the globe are witnessing a significant number of residents gravitate toward metropolises, which leads to a drop in the countryside’s population. From my perspective, this change creates negative effects for some reasons mentioned in this essay. On the one hand, it is obvious that relocation to the megacities may have many noticeable advantages. First of all, it is a potential opportunity for rural people to enhance their lives. This is because there are countless companies and manufacturers belonging to diverse industries that can only be found in big cities and these organizations offer a majority of promising chances for citizens. Additionally, the average income in urban areas is often much higher than in other places. This helps workers not only to earn a living but also to save aside a small amount to support their families. Secondly, moving to towns is a great chance to gain more knowledge and broaden their horizons. The main reason for this is the competitive working environment in the cities requires employees to improve their skills and abilities continuously to survive in the workplace. On the other hand, there are other detrimental effects of moving to megacities. Firstly, this puts high pressure on local authorities since the space of the cities is limited, and an increasing number of citizens might cause a great burden on the traffic and accommodations. Consequently, traffic congestion happens every day in residential areas and city centres. Moreover, the environment is heavily damaged due to emissions from vehicles and green spaces are removed to pave the way for expanding road systems and constructing skyscrapers. Another consequence is the threat to social security as the crime rate is rising, and burglary or fighting happens more frequently. In conclusion, even though this phenomenon has its pros and cons, I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the negative side as it brings profound drawbacks to both society and the environment.