In some cities, there is less control over the design and construction of new homes and office buildings. People can build in whatever style they like. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the loose regulation of design and construction of buildings has become the focus of society. Some countries are implementing schemes which are the construction of new estates are loosen regulated. As far as I am concerned, potential benefits overshadow its perceived drawbacks. First of all, the irregular construction determined by the house owner might threaten the safety of living. Building structure is related to the strength of construction, which is the guarantee of the quality of construction. For instance, some dwellers design their estates not fit with the requirement of structure. This reckless practice may be detrimental to the strength of construction. Therefore, loosening regulations on the decoration of buildings is unwise. Apart from the structure, the unqualified products of interior decoration also harm citizens’ health. Take oil paint as an example, producers of oil paints tend to use expired materials to cut down their budgets. If the authority lacks the management of the origins of the constructive materials, people are more likely to be exposed to substandard products. Their health may face serious consequences because of the poisonous chemicals produced. There is no doubt that dwellers have the right to make their own decisions for their houses. However, it is not reasonable that their unlimited rights may violate the rights of others. For example, some structures may randomly interfere with the lighting of surrounding buildings due to the height of some owners' estates. Therefore, the buildings should be regulated to ensure most dwellers’ rights. To conclude, despite the benefits, having fewer regulations over the design and building of new estates may result in several disadvantages.