Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is undeniable that universities play an essential role in youngsters' lives. Furthermore, there is a tendency to participate in courses other than admission' field of course, however, the issue is not entirely straightforward, and arguments can also be made against the idea. This essay will discuss the debate, and give a concluding view. On the one hand, those learners who support this idea believe that it can be a great opportunity to get familiar with other university-level educations. This might aid them in finding their interests. An example to illustrate this is the research being done on a group of students taking classes other than their own major. The result shows that they tend to change their field of study more than others. Therefore, participating in different classes could lead to broadening their vision thus finding their favourite subject which could bring about deciding to change their education. By contrast, opponents of this view point out that learners should concentrate on their main purpose of studying. In that taking unrelated courses could distract them and stray them from their path. A telling example was a medicine student taking art classes beside his main field, after 5 years of study he decided to change his major to art. This evidence demonstrates that this idea could cause a waste of valuable youth time and money, moreover, unfulfilled goals. A second consequence is the decline of marks of students learning about side subjects due to lack of time to spend on studying their major subjects thus failure in getting a qualification. Overall, it seems advisable that students should pursue their own study materials rather than consider participating in irrelevant matters to prevent loss.