Some people think that parents should punish their children when they misbehave. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some people that when children misbehave, their parents should punish them instead of doing something else. From my point of view, I slightly disagree with this matter and the reasons will be outlined before reaching my conclusion. To begin with, parents can take action in many ways and one of the crucial methods is to let their offspring face consequences. What this means is they will gain experience and understand what is going to happen when they are being naughty and mischievous. Furthermore, children will think carefully before they decide to take action next time. For example, at a new year party of my family last year, I asked my aunt why his child did not run around like he used to in the past and he told me that the boy had slipped and hit the edge of a chair before our family gathering one week. Therefore, he learnt and understood the outcome of running around could cause him injuries. In addition, another reason why I support this idea is adults can talk and guide their offspring. To elaborate further, parents can explain calmly with logic and consequences to juniors. Moreover, they can tell youths about the effects that happen not only in the family but also in society. For instance, when I was in middle school, my friend was throwing tiny gravel at me and his father came. Hence, his father called him to sit and talk calmly about the follow-up that would happen if I bled. Besides, it can lead to my parents filed a report to the police and it would affect their family and the school. Overall, it is undeniable that punishing is a thing that some parents choose to their offspring. In my opinion, I disagree with this viewpoint as there are plenty of ways that can stop them from misbehaving such as letting their children face consequences or talking to them.