Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your opinion

People are becoming concern towards values to instill in their children. They have different views weather young people should be taught to be competitive or co-operative. While a spirit of competitiveness can sometimes be useful in this life, I believe that the ability to co-operate is more important. On the one hand, competition can be a great source of motivation. When teachers use games or prizes to introduce an element of competitiveness into lessons, it can encourage children to work harder to undo the other pupils in the class. This kind of healthy rivalry may help to build children ’s self confidence, while pushing them to work independently and progress more quickly. When these young people leave school, their confidence and determination will help them in competitive situations such as job interviews. It can therefore be argued that competition should be encouraged in order to prepare children for adult life. On the other hand, it is perhaps even more important to prepare children for the many aspects of adult life that require co-operation. In the workplace, adult are expected to work in teams, follow instructions given by their superiors, or supervise and support the more junior members of staff. Team collaboration are much more useful than a competitive determination to win. This is the attitude that I believe schools should foster in young people. Instead of promoting the idea that people are either winners or losers, teachers could show children that they gain more from working together. In conclusion, I can understand why people might want to encourage competitiveness in children, but it seems to me that a co-operative attitude is much more desirable in adult life.