Some cities have vehicle free days where private cars, trucks, and motorcycles are banned in city centers. Only bus, bicycle, and taxis are permitted in the city center. Do you think the benefits outweigh the disadvantages?

An increasing number of private cars becomes a real issue around the world. The architects could never expact that when they were working on a city construction. Nevertheless, the technological advance and economic development apply dramatic changes to the city `s life and make us look for an effective solution to the upcoming traffic problems. In my personal opinion, the idea of having vehicle free days where private transport is banned in city centers is reasonable enough. The benefits from that are obvious: tourists feel more comfortable when they go sightseeing, it becomes way easier to get to the place you need using public transport or a bicycle and, last but not least, we reduce the negative environmental effects. It is a proven fact that the air pollution in big cities reached a peack already and is one of the main reasons for lungs diseases. Living in an old historical city I can observe a tendency of the last decade when citizens prefer private cars rather then environmentally friedly types of transport. On the other side, I see two main disadvantages in vehicle free days. Firstly, it restricts people`s right to choose the acceptable way to move across the city and get to their homes. Elderly and disabled people, mothers with children can fully feel all the inconveniences when living in a downtown of the city. Secondly, that does not fully resolves a problem with heavy traffic aside the city center and on all working days. To summarize everything, I believe that local authorities should develop a policy on how every city handles a problem with a traffic.