While it is sometimes thought that prison is the best place for criminals, others believe that there are better ways to deal with them. What is your opinion?

Crimes have always been part of societies. Hence, worldwide governments have evaluated the best ways to deal with offenders. Nevertheless, although many people argue that imprisonment has to be the unique punishment, some others believe that different options could have better outcomes. Here, I am going to explain why I think that both, either prision or other penalities, should be considered. Firstly, there are many types of crimes as well as lawbreakers. For this reason, characteristics of the illegal act that was commited, such as gravity, consequences, and people were involved on it, must be evaluated. For instance terrorism, murders, human trafficking or child abuse are major crimes, then severe penalizations have to be applied. However, pick pocketting, traffic offences and vandalism are minor offences and its sanctions should be personalized respectively. On the other hand, prisons are sponsored by public financial resources and it represents large expenses yearly. Besides, many research have shown that consequences such as mental diseases and recidivism could be outcomes owing to behivours and violence that are lived in jail. For example, in El Salvador, offenders that are in prison are nacked and have been beaten as a punishment. Then, community services, fines, etc, have to be evaluated as a method of penalization. To sum up, prison is required as a punishment depending on severity and reasons why a transgession was commited. However, there are many ways to stablish penalties that should be contemplate among offenders.