As more and more information is available online, the role of textbooks has become obsolete. Therefore, universities should replace traditional books with digital materials. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the accessibility of information on the internet has led to the importance of books on the verge of diminishing. Many people believe that textbooks should be replaced with technological ones. This essay will argue that the benefits of the situation exceed the drawbacks due to its practicality and eco-friendly improvement. On the one hand, the main advantage of using digital books for college students is its accessibility. People can access books on their mobile phones or computers, which lets them study autonomously with just a click. As a result, the students can cut their expenditures on buying textbooks, which brings opportunities to allot the money to other necessary expenses. In addition, since digital books are paperless, this situation is also beneficial for the environment, hence reducing logging activities. For instance, a 2019 BBC study showed that Indonesia's paper industries have dwindled by around 15% over the last three years. Despite the advantages, some people believe that e- books can cause eyestrain. The amount of time spent on screen exposes the retina to ultraviolet rays from the devices. Although radiation is likely to cause farsightedness, it can be prevented using anti-radiation glasses. Moreover, it is a challenging issue for underprivileged university students who cannot afford a particular gadget for e-learning, but in this matter, the institutions or government can resolve it with their financial aid. In conclusion, while digital material has drawbacks, such as weakening eye vision, that can be avoided by utilizing special glasses, its benefits, including flexibility, convenience, and environmental friendliness, outweigh its disadvantages.