Children spend a lot of time watching TV and playing computer games, however it does not help in improving their mental abilities. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that despite the large amount of time young people spend absorbing television and engaging in digital games, they do not provide any benefit in terms of enhancing cognitive skills. This writer agrees with the views about the negative effects on youth health and violent content, opinions that will be elaborated further in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, it is clear that engaging in long-term TV watching and gaming activities has detrimental effects on both physical and mental health. One obvious affliction is promoting a sedentary lifestyle. Watching television or playing games often requires sitting for long hours, leading to reduced levels of physical activity and increased risk of obesity, cardiovascular disease and other health problems. Sedentary behaviour related to excessive screen time may also contribute to musculoskeletal problems such as back pain or eye-related diseases, the most common of which are nearsightedness or what is also known as nearsightedness and astigmatism. In other words, the immersive nature of games and engaging stories in television shows cause individuals to spend long periods of time in front of screens, skipping through opportunities for physical activity and outdoor play, which are essential for happiness. It is also important to note that television shows and video games containing sadistic content are associated with increased aggression and susceptibility to violence, especially in adolescents. Countless psychological studies have revealed that constant exposure to toxic media can lead to increased aggression, hostility, and reduced empathy for others. For example, in video games, where players often play characters who commit violent acts, repeatedly engaging in virtual violence can blur the lines between fantasy and reality,and potentially ability to influence real-life behaviour. This is similar to the violent scenes depicted in the film. In conclusion, addressing the negative impact of a sedentary lifestyle and the promotion of aggression through violent content in television shows and gaming is important to protect the mental abilities of adolescents year. This essay has been written to demonstrate that the claim is a worthwhile matter.