In many countries, truancy* is a worrying problem for both parents and educators. •What are the causes of truancy, and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community? •* truancy = the situation when a child pretends to go to school but in fact goes somewhere else, for example to play unsupervised. The verb is 'to play truant from school.'

Truancy is causing worry for parents and teachers in various countries. while it may seem attractive to children, Negative effects may take place. In this essay, I will discuss the causes and after-effects of this matter. There are several factors causing children to play truant from school, the most prominent stimulant is the presence of strict parents. Caregivers with this aspect of personality don’t usually allow their children to go outside or play with their friends; thus, they feel the need to secretly sneak out of their school and attend to their childhood social needs. Seeking excitement is the second reason for truancy. A child at an early age is intrigued to perform risky and new actions; one of which may be sneaking out of the places he is supposed to be and partaking in activities he likes without supervision. The after-effects of this matter of worry are significant as children are prone to harm while being unsupervised. The harm might be inflicted on them either by engaging in activities alongside those who they should not, or by performing actions leading to their injury. Taking into account that they are so young, it is probable for them to lose their way and get lost nowhere to be found. These matters may increase crime in the community, for it eases access to victims for criminals. In conclusion, there are various factors causing children to sneak out of their school, two of which are living in a strict household and their aptitude to engage in activities sparking excitement. The effects of their actions both put their safety at risk and cause more crime.