Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Working cultures are various in different countries. European and American countries are regarded as having less (fewer) working hours than Asian countries. While some people claim that longer working hours can allow the country to have better economic development than the nations that have shorter office hours, I personally disagree with this nation, as I will elaborate the following. It is undeniable that work time does not guarantee the advantages of economic performance. Effective management for work matters more, however, longer working hours tend to lower staff productivity due to a lack of sufficient concentration. Take Taiwan for example, most workers spend more than 12 hours a day doing tasks, which is much more than in Western countries. However, the majority of Western countries ' economic development exceeds that of Taiwan. Additionally, overloading work in one day would make them frustrated, leading to the loss of a sense of accomplishment and enthusiasm for their jobs. Thus, time expenditure is not necessarily correlated to economic success. Health concerns are also one of the important factors when it comes to working culture. Long working hours deprive worker’s rest and sleep time. It may cause potential physical and mental health problems. For example, the Japanese are well-known as long-time workers, and nowadays the suicide rate in Japan is relatively high, leading to slowing their economic growth. Consequently, in order to sustain industrial prosperity, maintaining an individual's health should not be underestimated.