In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people's skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

In today’s world in order to get more profit most companies choose to sell lightening and brightening products that are applied to humans’ skin. The usage of such substances has some reasons, such as becoming more beautiful or being famous and also consequences on the overall well-being and society,like the loss of natural beauty and health-related issues. This essay will discuss both the causes and effects of the trend. The foremost cause of this issue is mostly considered a desire to be more appealing and attractive. To be more specific, some individuals accept whiter skin as a symbol of the ideal appearance, so it leads people to buy these creams. Furthermore, today most celebrities opt for using lighting products and participate in endorsement events after which it pulls the attention of the public. Consequently, the figure for the brightening cream usage is increasing day by day due to the promotion of the companies for getting more benefits. One of the profound and possible consequences behind the problem is related to health concerns. Those who overuse such creams damage their natural appearance. In other words, it results in dermatologic diseases which sometimes make it impossible to return to the initial state of the skin. It has a detrimental impact not only on the skin but also on overall well-being. To elaborate, if skin cancer occurs, other diseases will be inevitable. So, all these factors are a danger to both society and the health of individuals. To sum up, producing creams that lighten and whiten the skin for the sake of gaining more money by companies is a pervasive issue nowadays. This trend has possible reasons, such as looking better and so forth. The health-related results of the issue should be taken into account, as well.