The most important aim of science should be to improve people's live. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There hav been vast advances in the field of science which can affect most aspects of human life. Many believe that the ultimate goal of science must be to help make people's lives better. Therefore, in this essay, I am going to explain my opinion regarding this topic. I would like to start off with one of the most important improvements in the medical field. For instance, I want to mention anesthesiology specifically which was introduced to this field 150 years ago to allow operations more tolerable for people who have to undergo surgery. Practically, there had been no surgery before anaesthesia was introduced and many patients were dying from an ailment which needed more invasive interventions like simple appendicitis. Therefore, I believe that anesthesiology is a milestone which changed human lives to a much better one. On the other hand, science has the potential to be misused. It is true that everything has two sides so, science can make life better or at the same time destroy it. The invention of the atomic bomb is one of the most significant examples. This invention caused huge deaths and long-term damage to two cities in Japan during World War. Accordingly, the way human beings use science determines if it has a positive or negative impact on human lives. To summarize, based on what is mentioned above, science like many other fields can have benefits or drawbacks based on how it is applied. But in my opinion, the advantages outweigh its disadvantages if it is used wisely.