Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for e.g. working for a charity improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There are some statements insisting that high school students should have a compulsory duty to get involved in unpaid community service. As a result, I definitely agree that it should be taken as a part of high school programs. Despite learning academic knowledge, teenagers who study in high school are still fostering their sense of responsibility, which can't be learnt from those textbooks. The way that those students can cultivate their recognition is by taking action instead of reading books. Therefore, it is necessary for schools or even governments to enforce the training of raising social responsibility. What can students do in the programs could be clean the neighbourhood, volunteer in hospitals to help patients, or teach sports to children after school. All of that behaviour could have positive effects on society. Moreover, by doing these, juveniles can also get a sense of achievement by making contributions to the districts. However, although helping others is absolutely the best method to improve students themselves, there should be a time limitation for those volunteered works, to illustrate it, those works can't be overloaded thus leading to some negative influences on students ' academic performance. For example, it is more correct for students to make use of weekend days and spare time to do those work rather than at their school time. In conclusion, it can play an important role in the development of teenagers' skills by forcing them to engage in community service whereas there is a premise that it can't backfire on studying, that is, specific regulations should be imposed.