As countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in small family units. What are the causes of this trend and what are the effects on society?

There is a growing tendency to live in small family units or individually as countries develop.From my perspective, the phenomenon may be caused by the growth of daily expenditures and the changing public attitudes towards life. However, it will grow both personal and social burdens. Initially, one of the main arguments in favour of living alone or in small family units is that the soaring necessary costs have resulted in a plummeted birth rate. Since daily expenses have become too high to afford, many people tend to live with as few family members as they can and even live alone. The increasing unmarried population and the decreasing birth rate are salient evidence. Besides, the attitude towards life choices is somehow changed due to the emphasis on personal growth and satisfaction. Thus, Some people prefer to chase their own goals instead of dedicating to the family. Hence, the skyrocketing expenditures and the transformation of life attitudes have influenced society to a certain degree. At the other end of the spectrum, the situation will contribute to both social and individual burdens. Especially the prime-age individuals who have to look after old and young generations in the meantime, their commitment cannot be shared because of the lack of family members.Compared to living in big family units which have a relatively sufficient backup, the prime-age individuals in small family units take primary responsibility for taking care of their children and parents. In addition, the government will need to involve more resources to support ageing care not only for the extended life expectancy and solitary elderly but also for the prime-age groups who require governmental involvement to alleviate their burdens of ageing nursing. Thus, the tendency indeed brings about some counterproductive outcomes. To sum up, despite the fact that the situation is inevitable, the potential risks behind it cannot be ignored. The authorities should delve into the factors and prepare for their future impacts so as to create long-term benefits for their countries.