Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Rapid technology has allowed many new inventions to be produced with no exception of the health industry in which there is an increasing trend where society prefers to visit alternatives over professionals as it is far cheaper in some cases. However, in my view, this can be perceived as a negative trend due to the two reasons that I will explain in the following paragraphs. Firstly, going to an alternative treatment option can lead to malpractice. This is because many of the alternative practitioners did not attend any formal education nor have the requisite knowledge about anything that is related to medical science whereas doctors need to follow a long journey to finally become a specialist. Take a look at Indonesia, where alternatives are dominantly occupied by religious individuals who offer the spiritual experience of treatment. Hence, trusting alternatives that claim can cure many kinds of illnesses sounds extremely irrelevant in there is likely a chance for the result to become worse, especially when curing patients with special and rare cases such as cancer. Secondly, account for the side effects given by the incorrect measurements of drugs from informal institutions. Usually, alternative practitioners offer one-for-all medicines without customizing them according to each of the patient's needs. Likewise, the drugs used in alternative medicines frequently consist of herbs with questionable certification. For example, the popular Chinese herbs available in many markets may lack proper verification and quality control measures. Hence, without careful guidance by professionals may cause complications of overusing drugs. To conclude, considering how complex any worst cases may occur from death threats to drug overconsumption, which is caused by untrustworthy institutions, this seems to make this trend a negative development. Hence, people need to think wisely that nothing is more important than the worth of healthiness before visiting alternatives.