It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the rhythm of life is very fast and during the day people make a lot of different decisions. In some situations their decisions depend on that whether they want to take risks or not. While there are some drawbacks of taking risks, I still believe that these cannot overshadow the benefits. On the one hand, taking risks can bring out some obvious disadvantages. It is undeniable that taking risks might lead to big consequences that can have a serious impact on the person’s life. For instance, last time I took a risk and decided to open my own coffee shop, it turned out to be not as simple as I thought it would be. I failed and lost a lot of money due to lack of knowledge in finance and business management. It also affected a lot my psychological state, I was burned out and depressed. Also, On the other hand, I am concerned that the merits of taking risks outweigh the demerits. Firstly, decisions to risk might lead to success. For example, if a person, working as a simple consultant at some shop, decides to pull himself or herself together and talk with a director about a promotion at work, a person’s request can be approved and he or she will move forward on the career ladder. Secondly, taking risks is usually about getting new experience and knowledge. Moreover, risk taking broadens person’s horizons and helps person to look at the same situation from different sides. In conclusion, while there are some pros and cons of taking risks, advantages definitely outweigh disadvantages. Not only does it help to move on the career ladder, but also risk taking provides an opportunity to get new experience.