An increasing number of people are choosing cosmetic surgeries. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development

More and more people are concerned about their outer image these days, some of whom even choose to go to beauty clinics to alter how their faces or bodies look. There are multiple factors that might drive them to make such decisions, which I believe, could be detrimental. In this essay, I will focus on the reasons of this phenomenon before moving on to its effects on both sides. Such beauty chasers might have two major reasons to make changes to their lookings. First off, they may lack confidence on their appearance. For example, it is quite common for some beauty-lovers to complain about their noses being too big or eyes being too small, although they are actually fine. This is due to the inconfidence in confidence, which may facilitate them to make changes to such parts. However, not all patients go for operations are becuase of this. Another possible reason is to simply have a normal life. This particularly means the soldiers who have lost a part in war. Such solders who have been wounded tremendously need such cosmetic methods to have a normal looking and life they deserved. Despite the fact that such surgery may make people happy and confident, it is harmful for most of the time. To begin with, patients may suffer from post-surgery side effects. This is because of the unknown long-term effects of some new technologies, which could be irreversible and might take years before emerging. Secondly, those operations may empty their pockets and lower their living standards. This means that those returning clients who are addicted to such alternations on their faces may spend hundreds of thousands on fixing and maintaining endlessly, having little budget left for basic needs. Having said that, it is true that such surgery may bring a brighter future for patients such as blind people who would like new eyes. In conclusion, the growing number of plastic-surgery customers is not a straightforward issue. Perfectionalism and medical need might be the major reasons why people choose to have such operations. As far as I am concerned, it is more of a negative tendency than a possitive one.